#Woman Crush Wednesday

Lately, I’ve noticed that I’ve been all about the female powerhouses on Broadway. In order to celebrate them and their amazing voices, I decided to rank my top ten favorite female songs right now. This was incredibly difficult to narrow down and even harder to rank them into my favorites, but I did my best.

10. Natasha and the Bolkonsky’s – The Great Comet of 1812

This song comes in at number ten because, though it is beautiful and eerie (and Phillipa Soo and Gelsey Bell are both astounding actresses), it isn’t the most supportive of female friendships and it isn’t the most vocally demanding. The two women, though at odds are both holding themselves together in an uncomfortable situation.

Favorite Line: “I am not afraid of anyone…” (Natasha)

gelsey bell

9. I Didn’t Plan It- Waitress

Keala Settle’s pipes in this song are beautiful and tell you exactly what she means. This song is a defensive and powerful message supporting women. Sometimes, a bad idea is just what you need to get through.

Favorite Line: “Go ahead. Throw your rocks at me from your little glass house, and then take off running.”

keala

8. Out Tonight- Rent

If singing along to this song doesn’t make you want to put on a tight skirt and flirt, then I don’t know what will. The up tempo rhythm makes me want to dance and scream in the middle of the night. Rosario Dawson killed this number in the movie and I have been forever changed.

Favorite Line: “I’ve had a knack from way back of breaking the rules once I learned the game…”

rent

7. The Schuyler Sisters – Hamilton

Hamilton swept the nation this past year and it’s still changing lives as it spreads across the country with its tour. These three women bring the sass, the independence, and all of the woman power. Renée Elise Goldberry, Jasmine Cephas Jones, and Phillipa Soo became one of the biggest drawing points of the show.

Favorite Line(s): “and Peggy”

“When I meet Thomas Jefferson, I’mma compel him to include women in the sequel.”

“Work!”

schuyler sis

6. Burn – Hamilton

This song is about taking control. It is full of pain, anger, betrayal, and pride. Eliza was a devoted and intelligent woman. Phillipa shows amazing acting and vocal range in this song and she burns all of the letters of correspondence between Hamilton and Eliza.

#Elizadeservedbetter

Favorite Line: “I’m erasing myself from the narrative. Let future historians wonder how Eliza reacted when you broke her heart.”

burn real

5. Dead Girl Walking/ Dead Girl Walking Reprise – Heathers the musical

Whether you need some sex or some justice, this song and it’s reprise are right for you. Barrett Wilbert Weed belts out these amazing songs with such determination that you will want to join her every step of the way. In Dead Girl Walking, Veronica is trying to spend her final hours doing something crazy: breaking into the new kid’s room and sleeping with him. In the reprise, she tired of her boyfriend’s bullshit. She’s seen murders, betrayed her best friend, and faked her own suicide. Veronica is ready to just end it all at that point and she’s ready to get what she wants.

Favorite Line: “Sorry, but I really had to wake you. See I’ve decided I must ride you til I break you.”

dead girl

4. Times are Hard for Dreamers – Amèlie

Phillipa Soo is my idol. After originating Natasha and Eliza, she comes back with another original: Amèlie. This is the only song released from Soo’s new musical currently, but it is beautiful and full of hopeful dreams. Though it isn’t as powerful as some of the other songs on this list, it’s new and I’m way too excited to hear more from this show!

Favorite Line: “And I might be a dreamer, but it’s gotten me this far and that is far enough for me!”

amelie

3. No One Else – The Great Comet

Okay. I think by now you get that I adore Phillipa and her amazing talent. This song is beautiful and hopeful and heartbreaking all at once. Her vocals are soft and powerful and this song is perfect for her character. Audra McDonald once sang this song at her concert, so you know that it’s a quality listen.

Favorite Line: “I feel like throwing my arms round my knees and squeezing tight as possible, and flying away like this.”

natashapierre-e1368762111576

2. Look at Me Now – The Wild Party

This song is perfect if you need a confidence boost! Idina Menzel destroys these vocals and manages to bring about a masterful song of confidence and growth. Honestly, a great song to belt out in the shower, the car, or under a spotlight.

Favorite Line: “Me? Give me a bottle of bourbon and half a chicken and I’ll conquer the world!”

idina party

1. I’m Here – The Color Purple

This song is number one because it is such an inspiring story and Cynthia Ervio blew me away. While watching the Tony awards last summer, I was ready for Phillipa to win the Tony for “Best Actress in a Leading Role.” However, as soon as I heard Erivo sing this song, I knew that she was the one to win. Her vocals and style and expression while performing are outstanding and definitely deserved that award.

Favorite Line: “I’m beautiful and I’m here.”

cynthia erivo

Since it was so hard to pick just ten, I thought it would be fun to include some honorable mentions:

Cell Block Tango – Chicago

No Good Deed – Wicked

The Negative – Waitress

In My House – The Great Comet

Candy Store – Heathers

Defying Gravity – Wicked

Forget About the Boy – Thoroughly Modern Millie

Climbing Uphill – The Last Five Years

 

 

Leave a Reply

